top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAnne Rochell Konigsmark

When a knife feels better than a pen

As much as I love writing, and as much as I love reading, studying, teaching, and talking about great works of literature, I also love to get elbow deep in a big old mess in the kitchen. I plan to use this blog space to share great recipes, some original, some not, some a mash-up of both. I will always indicate which it is!


Late to the party as always, I have just now became obsessed with tinned fish. My fishmonger of choice is Donostia Foods!

Here is my version of their version of pasta with tinned squid in ink.


PASTA with SQUID IN INK

serves 4 people

takes not a lot of time


1 pound spaghetti, linguine, angel hair, or the like (your choice)

Olive oil and butter

1 shallot

3 or more garlic cloves

White wine

2 tins of squid in ink from Donostia Foods

1 jar of roasted red peppers

Herbs de Provence

Red pepper flakes

Parsley

Boil water in a large pot and get your pasta cooking.

Roughly cut up shallot and garlic and toss in a large saute pan coated in about two tablespoons each of olive oil and unsalted butter.

Splash in maybe 1/3 cup white wine. Drink the rest.

Dump into the pan two tins of squid, with all of their oozing black liquid.

Slice up the peppers and add them to the mix.

Top it off with a dash or four of Herbs de Provence and red pepper flakes.

Salt and pepper to your liking.

Drain the pasta when it's supposed to be drained, combine with the crazy good sauce, using whichever pot or pan you just used that will hold it. Don't get all fancy with a serving bowl.

Divide among four shallow bowls and sprinkle with chopped Italian parsley.

Baguette? Salad? You do you!


P.S. No, I have not received anything for promoting Donostia Foods. Those people don't know me from Adam's house cat.





19 views0 comments

Commentaires


Les commentaires ont été désactivés.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page