top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAnne Rochell Konigsmark

Who am I cooking for, anyway?

When my husband is out of town, I don't cook. I have no idea why. It's not because he "expects" me to cook, and so when he is absent, I don't. It's certainly not because I am cooking only for him; my kids are born gourmands, connoisseurs of goat cheese, blue cheese, raw oysters, boudin, and even sea urchin, practically from the womb. These are not nugget and mac and cheese kids, UNFORTUNATELY. Still, for some reason, when he is gone, I decide I have better things to do.


So, when a man is down (and they're all men, sigh), I rip off the apron and click on the Uber Eats app. And yet, my signature move in the kitchen, at least, according to the fam, is what is lovingly referred to as "Mommy Chicken." The name kind of says it all, no? Clearly this chicken is the darling of the created ones, not the chosen one. But do I make it when the hubs is on a trip? No, I do not. Again, mystery. But I suspect a familiar one, ladies!


So here is my "recipe" for Mommy Chicken. This is not a recipe. This is some fresh BS disguised with a loving name as a recipe. But I am going to take a risk that you, like me, sometimes need someone else to tell you how to do the obvious. So here it is.


MOMMY CHICKEN


Ingredients:

A chicken thigh or two per person. You know your people. You figure it out.

Mustard - Dijon? Sure. But I have made this with French's yellow mustard and I am not apologizing.

Olive oil

Bread crumbs. Yes, yes, I use the blue can. "Italian style." SO fancy.

A seasoning. Here are some thoughts: smoky paprika, herbs de Provence, thyme, oregano, "Italian seasoning," rosemary, pumpkin spice (not really).

S & P


Oven: 375-400 - take your pick. I am so extra that I have a weird thing about going for a temp like 385.


Do what you do with your thighs, Wash them, don't. Trim them, don't. I am not judge and jury.

Grab a sheet pan or a casserole dish depending on how many thighs you are making.

Coat said vessel in olive oil.

Thighs on/in vessel and flip them around in that oil.

Salt and pepper both sides. Season both sides with whatever herbs etc you have decided on.

Slather mustard both sides.

Turn them on their proper side and drop bread crumbs like fairy dust. But a drunk fairy who has lost all sense of decorum. Those roasted-up crumbs are delicious even without the chicken.

A little more oil? If you like and you have a light hand.

Into the oven. For how long? Maybe 40 minutes? My kids are old now. It has been a while. Surely you can figure out when chicken is done? Am I being annoying?

What to serve it with. Hmmmm. Rice. Potatoes. Salad. Broccoli. Asparagus. I think you got this.


But seriously, this is super YUMMY. And you should try it. Even if your husband is out of town. Because I am sure you are a better wife than I.

18 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page